MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF DISTRICT 497, HELD IN THE LAWRENCE PUBLIC SCHOOLS INTERACTIVE TECHNOLOGY CENTER, EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT AND DISTRIBUTION CENTER, 110 McDONALD DRIVE, IN THE CITY OF LAWRENCE

March 27, 2017

CALL TO ORDER SPECIAL MEETING

At 6 p.m., Board President Marcel Harmon called to order the regular meeting of the Board of Education.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Upon a motion by Shannon Kimball, seconded by Jessica Beeson, the board voted, in a unanimous voice vote, to approve the agenda as printed.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present	SLT Members Present		
Marcel Harmon, president	Kyle Hayden, superintendent		
Shannon Kimball, vice president	Anna Stubblefield, assistant superintendent,		
Jessica Beeson	educational support & equity		
Jill Fincher	David Cunningham, executive director,		
Rick Ingram	human resources & legal counsel		
Vanessa Sanburn	Janice Dunn, clerk		

Others Present (Including Administration and Staff)			
Andy Bricker	Ruben Flores	Joanna Hlavacek	Alan Hollinger
Lori Hutfles	Rose Itzcovitz	Melissa Johnson	Mary Loveland
Michael Maher	Andrew Nussbaum	Chery Nussbaum	Stan Roth
Gary Schmidt	Katie Sears	Njeri Shomari	
Dustin Stumblingbear		Margaret Weisbrod Morris	

APPROVAL OF CONSENT AGENDA

Following a motion by Shannon Kimball, seconded by Vanessa Sanburn, the board voted, in a 6-0 roll call vote, to adopt the item listed on the consent agenda.

The consent agenda included the following:

• The March 27, 2017 personnel report

DISCUSSION AND APPROVAL

Approval of Selection to Fill Vacant Board Seat

Marcel Harmon, president, board of education, requested that each Board of Education member share the name of the applicant who is their first choice to fill the vacant board seat and the reasoning behind the choice. He said that if there was consensus after each board member had shared, a motion for approval would follow, and if not, each would share their second choice, then third choice if needed.

Utilizing a randomly selected order, board members presented their first choice resulting in the selection of Applicant Ruben Flores by one board member and Applicant Melissa Johnson by the remaining five board members.

Upon a motion by Vanessa Sanburn, seconded by Jessica Beeson, the board voted, in a 6-0 roll call vote, to approve the selection of Melissa Johnson to serve on the board through January 8, 2018.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6:14 p.m., a motion was made by Shannon Kimball, seconded by Jessica Beeson, to adjourn the special meeting of the Board of Education. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Janice E. Dunn Clerk, Board of Education