Equity Advisory Council Meeting Minutes

January 30, 2018

Members Present:

Co-Chairs: Randy Masten, Annette Dabney, Lois Orth-Lopes Administrative Staff: David Cunningham, Mark Preut, Leah Wisdom Teaching staff: Kel Catterton, Sylvia Tevino-Maack, Danica Moore

School Board Members: Melissa Johnson

Community members: Gary Schmidt, Alan Hollinger, Peter Karman, Sarah Vandermast, Paula Smith, Maria Alonso Luaces, Tricia Masenthin, Beth Clark, T. Eli Horn, Chris Tilden, Amy Wolf

Students:

DELTA Guests: Njeri Shomari

Meeting called to order by Randy Masten.

Agenda Items

- Randy Masten called for approval of the November 20, 2017 minutes. Motion carried.
 Peter Karman requested that minutes be sent out in a timely manner, preferably by the
 end of the week after the meeting.
- Eleven EAC members sent word that they would not be able to attend the meeting.
 Tony Barron and Laurie Folsom will be added to the membership list. Sylvia TevinoMaack requested that the Latino Youth Student Council be represented. No specific
 action was taken on this request.
- Lois Orth-Lopes will follow up with eight individuals who have not been attending meetings, and who did not notify anyone that they were unable to attend this meeting, to determine their interest in participating in the EAC.
- 4. Leah Wisdom announced that there would be an on-site visit from the Midwest & Plains Equity Assistance Center on Wednesday, February 14, 2018. The EAC co-chairs were invited to attend this visit.
- 5. Paula Smith and Chris Tilden are working to identify health inequity issues in our community through the Douglas County Health Department Equity Work and Community Assessment. Community partnerships are important in this effort.
- 6. The EAC would like to invite our future superintendent, Dr. Anthony Lewis, to share his vision for USD 497. We are requesting that EAC and DELTA join in this meeting and that, if possible, it be on March 5, 2018 during the DELTA meeting time. (The EAC will not be able to meet on the 3rd Monday of March due to spring break.) DELTA Co-chair, Nieri Shomari was present and will bring the request to DELTA on February 5, 2018.
- 7. Annette Dabney noted that on February 26, 2018 the Board of Education will vote on the proposal to change the name of South Middle School to reflect the connection between South Middle School and the Native American community.
- 8. The MOU (Memorandum of Understanding) between USD 497 and the Lawrence Police Department needs to be updated, but the administration is not working on it at this time.
- 9. There were no subcommittee reports since the committees had not since the last EAC meeting.

The meeting ended so that each subcommittee could meet. Notes from the subcommittees are to be attached to these minutes.

Next meeting: Monday, February 19, 2018, 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM. Lois Orth-Lopes will chair.

Submitted by Lois Orth-Lopes