Equity Advisory Council Meeting Minutes

October 16, 2017

Members Present:

Co-Chairs: Annette Dabney, Randy Masten and Lois Orth-Lopes;

Administrative Staff: David Cunningham, Kevin Harrell, Keith Jones, Mark Preut, Myron Graber;

Teaching staff: Kel Catterton

Community members: Craig Comstock, Gary Schmidt, Alan Hollinger, John Rury, Peter Karman, Sarah Vandermast; Paula Smith, Maria Alonso Luaces, Gina Byrd-Stadler, Tricia Masenthin,

Students: Taylor Royal

DELTA Guests: Njeri Shomari, Cynthia Eubanks

Meeting called to order by Lois Orth-Lopes.

Agenda Items

- 1. Peter Karman moved/Randy Masten seconded that the September 18, 2017 minutes be accepted. Motion carried.
- Edited copies for the Equity Advisory Council Meeting Procedures were reviewed.
 Randy Masten moved/Mark Preut seconded that Board of Education members on the Equity
 Advisory Council will serve as full members with voting privileges. Motion carried. (12 Yes, 2
 No, 4 Abstain)
- 3. There is a need to determine if everyone on the list of 38 members plans to actively participate on the EAC, so that the 50% plus one quorum number can be accurately determined. Kel Catterton moved/Randy Masten seconded that the Equity Advisory Council Meeting Procedures be accepted. Motion carried.
- 4. Randy Masten moved/ John Rury seconded that the Equity Advisory Council Subcommittee Descriptions (edited 9-18-2017) be accepted. Motion carried.
- Peter Karman moved/Alan Hollinger seconded that the Lawrence Public Schools Equity
 Advisory Council brochure (edited to reflect the 9-18-2017 discussion) be accepted. Motion
 carried
- 6. Annette Dabney and Keith Jones gave an update on the name change recommendation for SMS. The information flyer was well received. Keith has the results of the survey and will announce the results on October 25th. He stated that some members of the SMS community have expressed an interest in presenting the recommendation to the board. He also stated the some of the staff at SMS will be at the board meeting to share their opinions.
- 7. The list of subcommittee members was passed around so that those who had not yet signed up for a subcommittee could do so.

The meeting ended so that each subcommittee could meet. Notes from the subcommittees are to be attached to these minutes.

Next meeting: Monday, November 20, 2017, 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM. Annette Dabney will chair.